About Yukon

Tourism Links

Yukon is a land of many different ecosystems, from lush southern forests to vast tundra to hidden lakes, turbulent rivers and magnificent mountains. The Territory boasts an impressive variety of wildlife including moose, bears, eagles, salmon, and muskrat. The capital city of Whitehorse is modern yet relaxed offering all the amenities of the bigger cities to the South plus sweeping views of birch lined ridges and snow-capped peaks.

Yukon is a deliciously diverse mix of history and culture with fourteen First Nations speaking eight different Aboriginal languages, all calling the Territory home. Seven of these languages come from the Athapaskan family which spreads from central Alaska through northwestern Canada to Hudson Bay. These seven are Gwichi’in, Han, Kaska, Northern Tutchone, Southern Tutchone, Tagish, and Upper Tanana. The eighth language, Inland Tlingit, is a distant relative of the Athapaskan family. Each language is spoken in a general area of the Territory, with no strict boundaries between neighboring languages, as First Nations people traditionally moved continuously during the year to fish, hunt, trap, and to visit and trade with other groups. Today, many Yukon First Nations continue to live on the land and survive off the resources that it provides in order to honour their traditional values and beliefs. Yukon First Nations are stronger than ever, reclaiming our lands, renewing our languages and culture, reviving our beliefs, and reaching out to the world with our values and knowledge. We are proud of who we are, and welcome this opportunity to share our culture with you.