Visitor Info

Tourism Links

The Yukon has a diverse mix of history and culture and is home to 14 First Nations. While we share many common traditions, each First Nation has its own special places and voices.

There are eight different First Nations language groups. Seven of these languages come from the Athapaskan family, which spreads from Alaska through the Canadian Northwest and as far south as Arizona and New Mexico. These seven languages are Gwichi’in, Hän, Kaska, Northern Tutchone, Southern Tutchone, Tagish, and Upper Tanana. The eighth language, Inland Tlingit, is a distant relative of the Athapaskan family. Each language is spoken in a general area of the Territory, with no strict boundaries between neighbouring languages, as First Nations people traditionally moved continuously during the year to fish, hunt, trap, and to visit and trade with other groups.

Today, many Yukon First Nations continue to live on the land and survive off the resources that it provides in order to honour their traditional values and beliefs. Yukon First Nations are stronger than ever, reclaiming our lands, renewing our languages and culture, reviving our beliefs, and reaching out to the world to share our values and knowledge. We are proud of who we are, and welcome this opportunity to share our culture with you.

YFNCT Welcome Guide Cover

Welcome Guide

The Yukon First Nations Culture and Tourism Association has created a beautiful 52-page publication to showcase the dynamic, evolving and rich cultural traditions of Yukon First Nations. We encourage you to take a look to learn more about Yukon's First Nations.

Click here to view the guide.



Rental Cars